top of page

Q&A With Instagram Chef @Chef_Balo


Pic Courtesy Chef Balo Ortiz

For my next Q&A, I have the pleasure of Interviewing my good friend and amazing Chef, Omar Balo Ortiz @chef_balo, from Phoenix, Arizona. Chef Balo is a Professional Sushi Chef, working as head Chef at Delux Restaurant. He also founded Naked Fish Gang Apparel. He is extremely creative, and has very talented hands. I have been following his Culinary creations on Instagram, learning of new Japanese dishes, cooking and plating tricks, and mostly drooling. His Sushi dishes are gorgeous, and his knife skills are out of this world!

Q. You are an amazing cook, and have an awesome Instagram profile. Can you please tell us a little bit of where you are coming from, where you became chef, and how you obtained your cooking passion and inspiration?

A. I remember growing up watching cooking shows with Francis Mallman. Some how that latin cooking channel was one of the only three channels I had available when a I was a kid. I never had this cliché moment most chefs have to fall In love with cooking. 10 years ago, after moving out of my parents house I needed a job and happened to get a kitchen job.

Q. Tell us a bit of your Sushi Hardware, Knives, is there any other special equipment?

A. I love my Knives. I have a 8 years old Yanagiba (slicer) that is still my main. Right now my knife line up consist of 2 Yanagibas, 1 Usuba, 1 Gyuto, and my Moribashi. But honestly I carry all sources of stuff in my back pack: a Torch, a Bottle Opener, Sharpies etc.

Q. I know you are a Sushi Chef, but what do you really like to eat?

A. Funny thing is that I do not consider myself an Itamae. I always say I am a Cook that makes Sushi. Hence, yes I love eating and trying new stuff all the time.

Q. What is the first thing to check for when you buy fresh fish?

A. Theres many things to look at. Most important in my opinion is giving the fish a good sniff. then check the eyes they have to look clear and shinny and have the “They seem to be looking at me” feel. Moreover, the Gills need to have a Vibrant Color and Firm like Texture.

Q. Can you share a tip to elevate the next House Sushi Party?

A. Yes, hire a sushi chef! (Editor Note: This is an awesome answer LOL)

Q. What do you consider the Ultimate Sushi Roll?

A. Some aged Tuna, Rice, Wasabi and Seaweed. Thats it. (Editor's note: Completely in love with Tuna Rolls)

Q. What is the most unappreciated fish?

A. Any Mackerel. I love Mackerel specially Saba and Aji because of their versitality. It is easy to pull a lot of distinctive flavor out of them.

Q. Life Goals - What do you wish you could cook in the future?

A. Anything really, you can make a great meal with humble ingredients. It is crazy how some ingredients have become inaccessible to many. my dream is to help promoting the idea of good food as a sustainable reality for everybody.

Q. What will you never ever cook or eat and why?

A. I have a big list. For instance Foie gras, I will never eat or cook with force feeding foie grass. Its crazy how we sicken an animal to later eat its diesesed parts.

I would never eat or make a dish with a expensive ingredient layer on top of another expensive ingredients just to make it “cool” I see chefs doing it all the time putting Uni, Wagyu, Caviar, Ikura on on top of the other to make “the perfect bite” thats just not my style. (Editor Note: Uni, Wagyu, Caviar, and Ikura are so amazing on their own, that mixing them negatively impacts the taste in my opinion)

Q. What Sushi recipe can you share?

A. Marinated Tuna is one of my favorite things to eat. Chunks of tuna, with Soy Sauce, Sesame Oil, Togarashi, Cayenne pepper and Lemon Zest.

Q. Must have, can’t live without cooking accessory? Digital or non-Digital.

A. My Yanagiba, take everything else away but my beautiful Old Knife.

Q. Name 5 awesome inspiring cooks we must follow on Instagram and feel free to elaborate.

A. @dabizdiverxo what he does is violent (in a good way). All he really does, is cook and care about making good crazy food.

the chef at @wrenchandrodent in ocean side California. Again another one that thinks like me about food, always creative always creating.

@541mametaro When It comes to serving perfect fish this is your guy. Taro has the ability to put great tasting menus on the daily. Always humble and always down to feeding people.

My lovely friend @mikeydlawrence . He is for sure on the top list of cooks I respect and look up to. he just understands food like no other. Sickfuck can cook.

@renattamoeloek she’s got it all man but she still doesn’t know it. Haha

bottom of page