top of page

Screen Real-Estate

What is the #1 tip I can give all content creators on Instagram? People always ask me for Instagram tips. I have one very useful tip, which can change the level of engagement your post gets dramatically. I see this photography mistake happening all the time. Both on video, and picture mode. People sometimes don't realise Instagram is a Visual Platform, and they should aim to grab more screen Real-Estate and the followers eye with more details, and get a lot more organic engagement.

I will give you the three formats Instagram uses, and you will see for yourself, that something simple, works a long way.

1. Landscape Mode

2. Square Mode

3. Portrait Mode

As you can see in the pictures below, the best Screen Real Estate comes from option #3 Portrait Mode. How much better is it? You can see below it is more that x2 more Screen Real-Estate than option #1 Landscape Mode.

My recommendation: Never do Landscape on Instagram! Give people bigger images to see, and to pinch and zoom into, they love the details.

I know it might be more work to photo and video in two formats if you have also a Facebook and Youtube, but hey, it makes a world of difference on Instagram, and they both support this format already!

I predict that if Instagram keeps being this popular, TV's will also switch to this format.

Let me know your thoughts.

bottom of page