top of page

Q&A With Instagram Chef @bbq_bboy


Q&A with Instagram Chef's is back, and we have a new Instagram Chef to follow and learn from. Anyone can make easy, mouth watering recipes at home, that taste and look amazing!

Our next Q&A is with my good friend Beto Santoyo, from Chicago, AKA @bbq_bboy

I have been following Beto on Instagram, getting hungry from his amazing BBQ game. Every post is totally mouth watering. Chicken, Pork, Seafood, Brisket, Burnt Ends, Burgers, Roasts, Steaks, Steaks, and more Steaks!!! You have to go and see his page and follow.

Beto will be competing in this year’s, 2018 World Food Championships in the steak category, let's all wish him luck!

Beto is a @caribeque brand ambassador, and you can get a 10% discount with Code: Beto

Thanks Beto, for inspiring the Instagram community, and for all your new cooking ideas, for all the amazing posts, and cooking tips. Was very happy to get to know you better via this interview.

You can read more of Beto, in his Blog, and Instagram Profile.

Here goes:

Q. You are an amazing cook, and have an awesome Instagram profile. Can you please tell us a little bit of where you are coming from, and how you obtained your cooking passion and inspiration?

A. Growing up, on the south-side of Chicago, my mom is/was the “cook” of the house. She obtained various jobs in hotel kitchens, as most undocumented workers do. She would then cook up some of the same recipes for us at home, exposing us to different cuisines, flavor profiles and cooking techniques. I was never really drawn to cooking in the traditional sense of kitchen cooking. But I knew at an early age that I was/am a pyromaniac at heart. I have an affinity for fire and playing with fire. As a kid, picnics and barbeques was my opportunity to help my dad start the kettle with charcoal and fire. That combined with the taste and smell of charring meat was all it took to hook me into the world of BBQ. I am an Audio Engineer/Sound Designer by day. So I mainly use my sense of hearing 9-5. But once I get home it’s all about smell and taste. I’ve always gravitated towards the visual arts. Growing up, I used to paint graffiti, playing with color blends, depth of field and style. Photography was never my strong suit but enjoyed it very much. It wasn’t until my youngest daughter took a photography class in her sophomore year that she taught me how to use our DSLR. I think it wasn’t until then that I started taking better pictures, inspiring me to start my Instagram account in March of 2017.

Q. Tell us a bit of your Hardware: Grills, Thermometers, Smokers, Special gear…

A. I now have an array of smokers and grills. Each of them have their strengths and flaws. I’m constantly learning new and better ways to tweak to cook specifically to each appliance. Constantly challenging myself to make it better every time. I rarely use my gas grill but I have a propane Weber Genesis I purchased in 2007. I’ve since then upgraded the propane regulator to a high 40PSI output and have also outfitted it with Grill Grates. I also have a CampChef pellet smoker with an additional searbox. I have to say, If I don’t want to think about, or worry about a cook because I have other things to concentrate on, this is my “go-to” smoker/grill combo. It really is set and forget all while giving me that authentic wood smoke smell and flavor. The searbox is the one-two-punch providing an AMAZING finish to any protein or vegetables. In October of 2017, I added the Kamado Joe Classic II to my arsenal. Ever since I sold my Weber charcoal Bullet, I’ve missed the smell and taste of charcoal grilling. This grill brings it all back and then some. It is feature rich with accessories that make you think about more creative ways to cook. I love this Kamado!

Q. What is your favorite meat to cook, and why?

A. My Favorite meat to cook is steak. As a kid, my mom always said, I loved eating steak or beef-centric dishes. Although, I do like seafood, poultry and pork. To me beef is king! I’m excited to announce that I will be competing in this year’s (2018) World Food Championships in the steak category. Wish me luck!

Q. What is your favorite way to cook, and why?

A. My favorite way to cook a steak is the reversed sear method. Until I tried this, I always thought that the tried-and-true way of cooking an awesome steak was sear then finish in a low temp grill. Thinking that you sear the steak “locking in” those juices. But by searing that steak first, that piece of beef it actually contracting quickly and expelling all those juices that will never be enjoyed. The reverse sear method lets that steak slowly come to a desired temperature while retaining all the juices inside. Then hitting it with that hot sear to give you that highly sought after, maillard reaction.

Q. What non-obvious cooking tip can you share?

A. One thing I can’t seem to stress enough is getting yourself a well calibrated thermometer. Many cooks will tell you they don’t need one or they can tell by look or texture of the protein. It may work for them 60% of the time. But if you want to be right 100% of the time, a trusted thermometer is your best friend. Some protein is very forgiving allowing you to overshoot the desired cooked temp, others not so much. I think that is why pork, chicken breast and some fish get a bad rap. The cook doesn’t want anyone getting sick so they overcompensate by overcooking to “be safe”. Leaving you with a burnt and very dry piece of meat. This is the department I will not skimp on. My go-to instant read thermometer is the Thermoworks Thermapen MK4. It’s a little pricey but so worth it.

Q. Name 5 awesome inspiring cooks we must follow on Instagram.

bottom of page